Bluebottles Blog

🫠 Blaugust reflections

Now that blaugust is over I wanted to revisit my goals going into it - see my previous post about this 10 days in.

  1. It's still scary to put yourself out there (mainly because of the lack of control over how your words are going to be perceived)
  2. I enjoy writing a lot - it comes easily to me, but I always find I hit a plateau when I try and improve.

A lot of people on here write about blogging, how to write and what keeping a blog means to them. I've also seem some good posts about analytics, and how writing on here can feel a bit... lonely at times.

I didn't enjoy how writing on here made me care about the analytics and likes on my posts, and also whether other people were linking to or replying to my posts. I'm not sure I want an online community - it conflicts with how I'm trying to live my life more offline and in the present, and also the freedom of blogging anonymously.

On the other hand, I really like a lot of the blogs and the posts I read here. I agree with itskristin's post about how we could all lighten up a little - the vibe on here is very earnest sometimes! But I also value this blog as a place to vent and write sincerely about about my feelings.

The above comment about community also doesn't apply to my guestbook and people who've left comments there - I really appreciate them! Because the guestbook doesn't induce the same... urge to check I have with likes and analytics, or the same disappointment if no-one has liked a post. I've left the guestbook there, if I get a comment it's nice, if not I can forget about it.

I'm going to continue using this blog, because I'm enjoying it - if I've learned anything, it's to continue trying to ignore likes and visits totally and focus on what I like about it, which is documenting bits of my day I like, writing bad reviews of films and books, and maaaybe slowly trying to refine my writing into a style I like. No pressure.

Btw, my neighbour cat snuck into my flat this morning, so here's a picture for you. He's the best and I wish I could kidnap him.

PXL_20240904_093609126