Bluebottles Blog

🎥 So many films, so little time

Watching films is one of my main hobbies. I love being transported by beautiful or interesting imagery or falling in love with a character.

I like a good plot but it doesn't matter to me if a film is more about the picture or the characters. I think about this tweet a lot.

tweet

I like genre films, mainly horror but I also watch a lot of action films - the Alien and Bond franchises. I like what I guess are art house films, and particularly love watching films from the 70s and 80s. I'm a big fan of Americana, some of my favourite directors are Robert Altman, Pedro Almodovar, Eric Rohmer, and Peter Strickland, and Alice Rohrwacher. I like Ealing comedies, Aki Kaurismäki's proletariat triology and a tight 90.

I got into watching so many films after moving to a city with good cinemas that show a lot of stuff I'd never heard of before, and having no friends so I'd go to the cinema four times a week. I now have friends but I go to the cinema with them (and my boyfriend who watches even more films than me).

I watch some films at home but I prefer the cinema. I own a DVD player and pick up a lot of films in second hand shops - I like a director's commentary.

I have about a zillion films on my watchlist at the moment and I don't know when I'll ever be able to see them all!

A big part of my hobby though is making plans to see films and scheduling what films I'll see during the week or what's on my radar - so I've added that to my new now page - I'm not totally happy with the concept of a now page - and not sure if it works for me yet - but a film update is something I'll always be happy to do.

#blaugust2024 #film