Bluebottles Blog

πŸ¦† Week notes

This Sunday's weeknotes bought to you by a very lazy Sunday.

What I did this week

πŸ§—β€β™€οΈ I went climbing this week - I'm really glad I went as I hadn't been rope climbing for awhile, or seen my rope climbing friends.

🏠 Spent part of my Wednesday off going through all my old diaries, the other stuff I did you can find in my day log.

🎞️ This week I watched Octopussy, A view to a Kill, Only the river flows, Thelma, We're all going to the world's fair, Crimes of the Future and Alien: Romulus. I wrote a review for Happy-go-lucky which I watched a few weeks ago.

🧠 I worked through a number of CBT modules this week (this is as part of on-going NHS therapy I'm doing for depression) on getting active, communication and self-esteem. I found the communication and self-esteem modules most helpful - I think a lot of my negative thoughts and lo self-esteem come from being unable to advocate for what I want in relationships, which I want to work on.

πŸ‘©β€πŸ’» I added a guestbook and a now page to this blog - both works in progress. I'm happy people who's blogs I like have left comments (hi! πŸ‘‹) but I've also had to moderate out some weird ones :/

How I felt

I felt pretty good this week although I'm still struggling with work. I had some periods of rumination (see below - a concept I learned from one of the CBT modules I did) which I'm trying to avoid doing.

Things I read

Although I finished Mrs Dalloway last week, I spent most of this week revisiting it before my book club meeting. I started reading The Hopkins Conundrum as I wanted an easy read before the next book club pick.

Articles and posts:
The unexpected comfort of we're all going to the world's fair

Chapell Roan confronts the sickness of modern fandom

Ava's post on browser start pages - Ava's site and blog have such a cool style!

Mei's favourite daffy duck clips - Mei's enthusiasm for these clips is so infectious and they're so funny.

Meadow on the making of tools = this post made me feel really inspired to make stuff!

Concepts I learned

Duver is an isle of wight dialect term.

Rumination (as defined in my CBT course) "is when you turn the same thoughts about problems over and over in your head. You typically do nothing about it." I am prone to this and it's helpful to have a term for it. If you are too, there were some thoughts on how to stop:

If you find yourself ruminating, pause and begin to challenge your negative self-talk. Ask yourself, β€œIs this a true, fair, reasonable or helpful way to think about the topic?” It can also be useful to do something to get your body moving and distract your mind. If you think you are a ruminator, start to notice it and nip your habit in the bud!

Easier said than done though :)

Fun things I did / saw / wins

pngs for snails as I've recently become obsessed with whatsapp stickers I absolutely love this tumblr with loads of trinkets made into transparent pngs.

Paddle-boarding was surprisingly fun! And I was better at it than I thought I'd be (managed to stand up) which gave me a little boost.

I also ordered a tire pump and managed to pump up my bike tires by myself πŸ’ͺ

PXL_20240819_162219321