Bluebottles Blog

πŸ€• Weeknotes

This Sunday's weeknotes bought to you by a migraine. I'd like to have done a plans post for September or a Blaugust reflections post for the first day of the month, but updating this is all I have in me for now.

What I did this week

πŸ§—β€β™€οΈ Climbing again on Monday and Thursday πŸ’ͺ I feel pretty good about it, managed to lead some routes with no breaks. Working my way back up to 6a lead.

🏠 Not a lot of chilling this week - except today when my headache has kept me in binge watching New Tricks on bbc iplayer. It's pretty nice to have a lazy day actually. I started a new diary this week - I got a nice new book with a William Morris design.

🎞️ This week I watched I saw the tv glow, Kneecap, Didi and Unstoppable. I haven't written reviews for any of these 🫠

🧠 I think I managed to communicate more to try and address my anxiety around not expressing myself earlier in the week, but I failed to do so on other occasions. I think I've managed to be kinder with myself about it though. Honestly I should do a whole post on this.

πŸ‘©β€πŸ’» I've been working on my bookclub website to try and implement a wrapped page for our anniversary :)

Things I read

πŸ“š We had our book club meeting on Mrs Dalloway. I've been listening to Doppelganger by Naomi Klein as an experiment in listening to audio books - I'm not sure I get on with it. I've also got 2 other books on the go - The Hopkins Conundrum and Losing Eden.

On japanese stationary and overconsumption by kelsey - I'm concerned about overconsumption and I appreciated Kelsey's thoughts on it - I also just thought her blog design is super cute!

move slow and mend things - I enjoyed this through post about the platforms we use which pulls together lots of thoughts on how to make a better web.

oh, the towering feeling by tiramisu - all of tiramisu's writing is great, but this rumination on trying to hold onto happiness really resonated with me - it's something I struggle with too. Time feels like it's slipping away constantly.

I think about that Ocean Vuong quote about too much happiness being lost in our desperation to keep it, and I can feel myself trying keep that desperation at bay, batting its paws away, trying to feel all the things I’m feeling without fast-forwarding into the future and worrying about losing them.

I've also been very inspired by personal websites this week - lina's home and doqmeat's website are both fantastic, filled with little experiments and creative page designs.

Concepts I learned

Sailing stones

Sailing stones (also called sliding rocks, walking rocks, rolling stones, and moving rocks) are part of the geological phenomenon in which rocks move and inscribe long tracks along a smooth valley floor without animal intervention.

Fun things I did / saw / wins

I communicated something that upset me to somebody and it went well!

Climbed several 5+s without backing down.

Brides of the wind

In a world-first, an all-female crew of 47 women sailed 3167 nautical miles on a traditional ship across the Atlantic. The Berlin-based photographer Verena BrΓΌning captured the challenges and camaraderie of the voyage.

ascii cats!