Bluebottles Blog

🎞️ We're all going to the world's fair

I watched we're all going to the world's fair on Thursday - it's so weird to see an actual tumblr film in the cinema. If that sounds derogatory, it's not - it's really interesting to get to the point where you see your early internet experiences on film.

were_all_going_to_the_worlds_fair

It's a film following a teenager, Casey, as she takes the viral World's Fair challenge and gets involved with the online community surrounding it, recording her "changes". I say involved with the community, but her internet interactions are lonely and minimal, confined to the sort of videos with views in the single figures and the edges of the internet.

Of course, a lot of my early internet experiences were different, but as a former teenager obsessed with creepypasta some of it definitely hit. It's also a desperately sad and lonely film - I think one of it's strengths is that it could be read so many different ways, and you could project so many different things onto it (as one of the characters in the film projects onto Casey) - but I didn't read any supernatural horror into it at all, but the horror of an adolescence tapped with yourself somewhere you don't want to be.

I read The unexpected comfort of we're all going to the world's fair by Laura Brown afterwards - I'd recommend this if you'd like a review that goes deeper into the themes I didn't identify in the film, and a more personal reading - it's a great read.

#blaugust2024 #film