Bluebottles Blog

☀️ Sunshine, blues and meltdowns

I'm struggling to blog on this holiday.

I think this is A) my plan to do short posts with pictures isn't really doing justice to my feelings, which I don't have time to articulate properly because I'm on holiday.

And b) this holiday has been harder than I thought and I'm a bit blue about it. It's difficult to spend five days in one room with someone, especially a sibling you're more like than you want to admit.

But hey, here's today's attempt.

Today we drove to Porto Moniz. I've been DJing with bonobo's playlist. The views on the way are really cool, you drive through tunnels and mountains. We saw some wildfires in the mountains on the way - I googled and it's a common problem on the island.

I think I've messed up the film in my camera again - see this post for my history doing this. Trying not to let it bother me too much - but it's frustrating. I keep fucking it up and I don't feel like I'm getting any better at it, which makes me feel stupid and doubt my ability to learn.

We swam in these tidal infinity pools at Porto Moniz - it was nice, like swimming in the sea but not. I love swimming in the sea, it feels so joyful. Stopped in Seixal on the way back, which was all decorated with flowers for the Assumption of Mary.

1000020011

1000020012

We had lunch in a cafe with a cat and a wonderful view before driving back - we'd planned to see some other things, but it was just too hot.

We saw the wildfires still burning on the way back to the hotel, my phone refused to open maps because it had overheated and we were giggling with relief when we finally got out of the car and into the pool. 30 degrees (Celsius for you Americans) is just too hot for me.

We knew this was the hottest time to come here but we underestimated it - tomorrow we'll plan a siesta 😴

#blaugust2024 #madeira #mood